My Heart and Hand

Had a doctor’s appointment to check the progress of my broken left hand.  It seems that the entire length of my index finger is still fractured.  No wonder it still hurts so much.  It was pretty much a repeat of last month – only, this time, there was a much nicer intern taking care of me.  His name was Nick  and he actually looked at me and seemed to hear what I had to say.  He suggested that I try to make as tight a fist as I possibly can numerous times a day until I return in 6 weeks.

I felt energetic when the appointment was done.  So, I decided to pick up the holds I had at the public library.  I chose two DVDs on top of the five books waiting for me.  So, I am set for another week.

I needed a few things from the grocery.  So, I decided to stop there on my way home.  As I strode through the produce section, of course, I couldn’t help but pick out a few juicy deals before I bought what I actually was shopping for.  Ever since I have changed my diet to include mostly fresh fruits and vegetables, I have to say that I have felt better.  As a matter of fact, if the car accident had not happened, I would probably be slimmer and more fit than I have been in a long time.  Alas, it was not to be.  I need to get back into exercising three days each week.  I may have to start with only pool exercises as my hand hurts too much to try to do anything on the machines at the Y.   Sometimes, it gets so depressing.  Every time I get enthusiastic about working out, I get sick or, in this case, have an accident which throws off my whole goal.   I need to figure out a better plan, I guess.

I was also told today that I need to make an appointment with my cardiologist.  My blood pressure has been consistently 120/70 (or there abouts) for several months now.  My cholesterol is lowered and my heart rate stays at about 74.  They still tell me that I need to lose 30 pounds.  I have been losing thirty pounds since the year 2000.  I am 10 pounds heavier than when they originally told me to lose 30 pounds.  Like many of us, when we stop exercising, those pounds creep back on.  I guess I need to stay healthy long enough to lose that 30 pounds and keep it off, huh?

heartsandhands

Leave a Reply

